The exterior painting of the historic pavilion in Fireman’s Park is nearing completion. Funding was provided by the estate of Merle Guenther with coordination of the project handled by Columbus Historic Landmarks and Preservation Commission. Roberts Painting LTD of Randolph did the work.
The pavilion was the first structure to be built immediately after Fireman’s Park was established in 1916. Its unique architecture resembles the house barns of Europe. For several years, CHLPC has spearheaded the fundraising efforts for the restoration of this gem in our community, including the installation of an elevator and accessible restrooms on all three levels beginning in 2015. The facility draws rentals from a wide area almost every weekend year-round. Contact the Columbus Recreation Department for rental information.
Although the pavilion has traditionally been white with black trim for the foundation elements, now the façade has been upgraded with gray to accent the windows and under the eaves and veranda is a continuation of black paint, while the siding remains white.
Additional upgrades to the pavilion are planned by CHLPC. Financial contributions may be sent to the City Hall at 105 N. Dickason Boulevard, or by contacting any member of the commission: Carolyn Fredericks, John Salzwedel, Beth Altschwager, Retta Kurth, Jan Ulrich, Ruth Hermanson, or Eric Lukasavitz.
Stop by the Fireman's Park Pavilion (1049 Park Ave.) and see the progress for yourself! For reservations, visit the City of Columbus website.