Utility Commission

The Utility Commission is responsible for the management, control and supervision of any and all of the property pertaining to the water, light, electric, stormwater, wastewater, and communications utilities. The commission protects all property under its charge and management from all unnecessary damage or loss, keeps the water, electric and communications systems and appliances in good repair, procures at the expense of the City all materials necessary to operate the water, electric, stormwater, wastewater, and communications systems, and employs all labor necessary in the operation, management and extension of the systems.  The Utility Commission consists of seven members. Two of the members are the mayor and a member of the Common Council who is appointed by the Mayor. The remaining five members are City residents.

Appointments to this commission are made in October.

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes 

City of Columbus Utility Commission meetings are broadcast live on Spectrum cable channel 980 and live stream. Recordings are available anytime on demand.


Name Term Expires
Joe Hammer Mayor
Sarah Motiff - President Alder
Brook Andler - Secretary 2023
Sandy Curtis 2024
Regan Rule 2025
Michael Thom - Vice President 2026
Laura Beckman 2027